FOUR MONTHS?!

avery drawingFour months! That is how long it’s been since I last blogged on the old Leaf. It still says I’m reading The Dovekeepers, which I actually never started! I suppose that’s what happens when your baby becomes a toddler. But more importantly, in the last four months I’ve read both the Hunger Games AND the Game of Thrones series and I AM LOST as to what to read next. I tried Her Fearful Symmetry by Audrey Niffenegger but couldn’t get into it. I whipped through Alter of Eden by James Rollins thinking a good adventure would get me back in the spirit, but I’ve finished and still stand at a loss in front of my bookcase. I picked up the copy of The Lost Hours by Karen White which I’ve had on my shelves forever, and the writing is horrendously annoying and first-persony and far-too-introspective as she sits waiting for tears to come over her grandfathers death. Seriously, three times in the first chapter she pauses to see if perhaps THIS will be the moment she grieves, but alas, she stands dry-eyed.

So, what does one DO after they’ve read such a HUGE series as the Game of Thrones? Good heavens, please help me find something to read because I’m miserable! I need something GOOD, and preferably BIG, and would love a series that I can dive into that will last me forever. Suggestions, please? Give me something I haven’t heard of!

7 Comments

Filed under Life, or bookish things like it.

7 responses to “FOUR MONTHS?!

  1. Have you read the Sword of Truth series by Terry Goodkind? It’s a sprawling fantasy, about 11 books, and they are awesome.

  2. Adorable toddler…they do take time.

    Try THE SECRET KEEPER by Kate Morton or The GIRL ON THE CLIFF by Lucinda Riley. Or….THE AVIATOR’S WIFE by Melanie Benjamin.

    There are reviews for all on my blog if you want to stop by.

    Elizabeth
    Silver’s Reviews
    My Blog

  3. Glad to see you’re around and happy!

  4. Robert Jordan’s Wheel of Time series will keep you reading forever! It’s 14 volumes and counting. The final volume is going to be published in January. He died before completing it so it was finished by Brandon Sanderson. the first volume is called Eye of the World. Have fun!

  5. I started the OUTLANDER series this year and quickly fell in love. Easy reading, brain candy, awesome.

    Good to see you posting!

  6. I have been trying to stay away from series, I like the story to end when the book ends. In September I read “On The Island” by Tracey Garvis Graves, and in October I read “Blackberry Winter” by Sarah Jio, and loved them both. I hope you find what you are craving to read soon.

  7. Ann

    The Dovekeepers is my next book to read, Hope you find something you can dive into.
    Ann

Leave a Reply

