Review: The Rose Labyrinth by Titania Hardie

I don’t even know where to begin with this one. A woman named Lucy needs a heart transplant, which she gets. She then becomes involved with her doctor, Alex. Somewhere along the way they’re pulled into a mystery that involves Alex’s brother, Will,  John Dee (circa the original Queen Elizabeth’s time), riddles, roses, labyrinths in churches, angels, Shakespeare, and the Rapture. If you can make sense of the plot and it’s circumnavigations, then by all means, have at it, my friends. For me, it was way too much. The riddles on the papers that Lucy and Alex find have much potential, but are SO numerous the reader is inundated trying to figure them out. Eventually they become so overwhelming you start skipping over the details to just get to the meat of it all. With all the clues and mystery there should be a grand finale at the end, but it’s over so quickly it’s as though it was all a dream and the reader just woke up to a hollow sensation that none of it is real.

A wonderful effort, brilliant idea, but for me, The Rose Labyrinth was completed mired down in it’s own mystery.

3 stars

3 Comments

Filed under Book Review

3 responses to “Review: The Rose Labyrinth by Titania Hardie

  1. Complicated plots can make a reader lose joy in the reading experience. Too bad this one didn’t work out!

  2. Katharine Ott

    I completely agree with you about The Rose Labyrinth. I read it this summer and thought it had a lot of promise as I began, but then the details became way too distracting. I wrote in my journal that I imagined the author had a lot of fun researching and writing it, she was obviously interested in the subject, but she lost her story along the way. I would, however, like to try walking that labyrinth someday!

  3. Ann

    I find that complicated plots are not good reads for me. I hate it when too many characters are thrown at you too. I am currently reading a novel where I’m forever going back and trying to figure out who everyone is.
    Ann

Leave a Reply

