Teaser Tuesdays: The Sea of Monsters

I’ve been a good little reader lately, and I think I deserve to be rewarded. I have earned some free time, some Me-time, if you will. Those effervescent, rare, but delightful days where I can luxuriously squeeze in a free-for-all read before the next review is due. “Due” being the operative word for a deadline I place upon myself. One should never miss ones own deadlines, really. What would that say about oneself?

My reward is shared with you today, because MizB of Should Be Reading has once again brought us Teaser Tuesdays. I’m taking a break from deep, serious, think-er types of books, and reading The Sea of Monsters by Rick Riordan (Percy Jackson & The Olympians, Book 2).

I had nightmares about what Poseidon would turn me into if I were ever on the verge of death–plankton, maybe. Or a floating patch of kelp. (50)

It’s nice to be able to read without thinking. What’s your Teaser?

36 Comments

Filed under Meme

36 responses to “Teaser Tuesdays: The Sea of Monsters

  1. While I have not read Lighting Thief I have read this one. Hate reading out of order but this was on my book battle list and I had to read it to make questions. Hope you like it.

  2. tarynwanderer

    Everyone deserves an easy, enjoyable book now and then! ;) I’ve heard a lot about the Percy Jackson books but haven’t picked them up yet. Hope you enjoy your break!

    My teaser for this week is here!

  3. hehehe funny teaser. The word plankton reminds me of plankton in spongebob ;)

  4. I’ve been meaning to start this series. My little brother just finished them and he’s pressuring me ;-) Here’s my TT and Contest.

  5. Ah, yes, the “reading” reward! What a delightful tease, too.

    I’m rewarding myself with my Picoult book today!

  6. It’s a good feeling about deadlines, isn’t it? All my posts for this week (except my Sunday Salon) are scheduled and ready to go, so I can just focus on schoolwork and Pride and Prejudice.

    I’ve been meaning to read this series- they seem to be written for a younger audience than I initially thought. Maybe I can whip through the entire series during the summer…

    Here’s my teaser, from the aforementioned Pride and Prejudice.

  7. I think my daughter will be making the leap into this series soon; sounds like she’ll be hounding me to read them when she’s finished…

    Here’s mine.

  8. Oh dear, not the best of dreams. Wonderful teaser.

  9. HAHA! Funny teaser :)

    Here are our teasers.

    ♥Isalys

  10. Fantastic teaser! I really loved this series and I hope you are enjoying Sea of Monsters.

    Here is my teaser

  11. Poseidon sounds like a pretty nasty guy! Excellent teaser, though.
    Here’s mine.

  12. I could easily see myself as plankton. Good teaser.

  13. This one is on my TBR pile but I have too many self-imposed deadlines to grab it right now. It does look good. I just read The Lightning Thief and saw the movie. I would like to know where the series goes.

  14. Yikes! I’d be scared, too!

  15. One day, I will actually get to reading this series. I hope that you enjoy your book. Here’s mine.

  16. SO want to read this! I’ve been toying with the idea of downloading it to my Nook. I think you sold me!

  17. This is the second book in this series that I’ve run into today. And since I love stories like these seem to be, I can see that I really must pick them up soon. Great teaser!

    My own teaser is at Bookishgal.

  18. Hey, you know what they say; “Variety is the spice of life”. Good selection and am curious, why is he worried about what Poseidon would do to him? Would love to read your review on this, i kinda like Greek mythology. You can view my teaser here

    http://bookventuresbookclub.blogspot.com/2010/03/teaser-tuesdays_30.html

  19. I have been meaning to pick up this series. Thanks for stopping by my blog!

  20. Haha. Yes – sometimes it is good to have a break from thinking books! My break is comimg up :) Thanks for visiting my teaser

  21. Great teaser! Enjoy your well deserved, easy reading me-time :)

  22. Haha. Good teaser. Mine is from the first book in the series. I’m starting Sea of Monsters on Thursday.

  23. Lizzy

    I love this series so far, great teaser! I’ve found that they’re pretty quick reads, so I’ve been able to pick a few up despite my TBR pile. Glad you got some you-time :)

  24. LR

    Reading without thinking is what I call “fluff reading” and I love it :) Thanks fro the teaser suggestions :)

  25. justbookreading

    Hmm…I think I need a book like that. I’ve been stuck deep in historical fiction lately.

    Good teaser.

  26. LOL, how are you liking Percy so far? That’s one of my favorite lines in the book. Good teaser!

    Thanks for dropping by mine! :)

  27. nice teaser.

    Thanks for stopping by On the Bookcase.

  28. This teaser made me smile. I read The Lightening Thief a few years ago and really enjoyed it, I hope you do too!

  29. Is this the man that co-wrote those newer Peter Pan books with Dave Barry? Peter and the Starcatchers, etc….. I could of course look it up, but I’m very computer lazy! :) and would rather ask questions. :)

  30. Cute teaser! Thanks for visiting.

  31. Ooh, great teaser! Yes, it’s good to mix up your reads from time to time. For instance, I’ve just read a black comedy which really cleansed the palette so to speak, before I dive into something deep again…

  32. Glad you liked the book! I’m scared of Poseidon!

  33. I guess I could think of worse thigns to be turned into, LOL. Great teaser, sorry I missed it last week. Have not read this series, but it does sound intriguing.

Leave a Reply

