Booking Through Thursday

This is a nicely appropriate question for the frigid weather New England has right now. Not as bad as the storm making it’s way up the coast though! Booking Through Thursday asks us:

The northern hemisphere, at least, is socked in by winter right now… So, on a cold, wintry day, when you want nothing more than to curl up with a good book on the couch … what kind of reading do you want to do?

I want to do classic escapist reading. Harry Potter, Twilight, Narnia, chick-lit, action-adventure, thriller, mystery, fantasy, anything that I can dive into that keeps me awake and wanting to read for hours. Nothing serious for me when I’m in the cold-weather-must-get-warm mood! Alas, these days I don’t often get to pick what I read next, since my ARC pile is steadily growing and I’m weird about needing to read them before they’re released. But I have a large pile of escapist books that I’ll get to one of these days. What do you like to read when the weather outside is frightful?

23 Comments

Filed under Meme

23 responses to “Booking Through Thursday

  1. I’m always torn between picking up that long epic book that’s been in the TBR pile for a while now (it’s that same urge that makes me feel like I should stock up on bread and milk) or whittling down the list of books due soon at the library.

  2. I have discovered that my reading choices are not weather dependent. My BTT: http://www.rundpinne.com/2010/02/booking-through-thursday-genre.html

  3. I’m behind on review books too. I have a few actual ARCs (that haven’t been released yet) but I mostly get books that are already released.

    Here’s my BTT Answer

  4. DanaB

    That’s the key for me…something that keeps me readin’ n readin’ n readin’!! I am in denial of the weather outside…I think the sunshine went tropical and left us behind! ;)
    ~~

    http://www.mywindowswideopen.wordpress.com

  5. Sometimes, if I’m not feeling well or need a little pick-me-up, I’ll turn to Narnia or LotR. Usually, though, I just plug on through my TBR and ARC piles. :)

  6. Thats great..! We both have similar answers :)
    I hate to break my head in such a lovely atmosphere !

  7. Sounds like me !! Being a new reviewer, I am trying to navigate NING to get a couple of ARCs. And my personal TBR pile LOL…have some books that I purchased years ago lol
    CMashLovesToRead

  8. Yes! Harry Potter and Twilight are fun and light hearted, excellent choices. Here’s Mine

  9. Oooh, great question. Last year when it was cold outside I read allot of Jane Austen novels..but this year I read everything!

  10. I like that idea, an Escape TBR list.

  11. No matter the time of year, if there is a good escapist book to get lost in, I want to read it!

  12. I like good thrillers and mysteries when the weather outside is frightful…LOL

  13. I understand the ARC thing- why get a ARC if you don’t read it prior to release? Harry Potter sounds delightful in winter.

  14. Comfort books and comfort food on a wintry day for me.

  15. Escapist literature is a very good choice!

  16. I’m with you – I like something light, enjoyable and page-turning to read on cold winter days. For me Drood is perfect for that kind of read.

  17. Since I view a day where I am snowed in like a “found” 24 hours, I tend to read books that I would not normally read during the course of a busy week.

    I personally think that HP and Narnia are good books to read at any time in any weather :)

  18. Mae

    I love escapist reads and comfort reads hence, somewhat contradictorily, my preference for Agatha Christie especially Miss Marple. A gently murder case, tea and scone.

  19. I know the pressure to finish the ARC TBR pile. I have my own pile of ARCs I need to read.

  20. Lex

    There’s nothing better than reading on season’s like winter. That’s a nice way to put it, escapist reading!

  21. Your list is my list, summer or winter. But I have to add Anne of Green Gables, every book written by Dorothy Dunnett and Rosamunde Pilcher’s The Shell Seekers and Winter Solstice. And maybe a Jilly Cooper and a Fiona Walker or two.

Leave a Reply

